Mid-year labor law updates for California

  • incompass_compass

    Several new laws took effect on July 1, 2014, the most notable being a raise in the minimum wage to $9 per hour for most wage earners. This raise results in several payroll issues that business owners should be aware of, including overtime rate of pay, exempt/nonexempt classification, and commission draws.

    Your employment law posters may now be out of date. Make sure you have posted the Minimum Wage Order (MW-2014) and any Industry Wage Orders that apply to your business. All 17 Industry Wage Orders have been revised and carry the revision date of 07/2014. Be sure to keep up to date.

    The Minimum Wage Order poster and the Industry Wage Orders can be printed from the State of California Department of Industrial Relations website. 

    There are other changes in effect with Paid Family Leave Benefits, Background Checks, Workers’ Comp Predesignation of Physician forms, and Work Sharing Plans.

    Members of our Biz Tax & Compliance Coaching (BTCC) Program receive advanced notifications like this along with other critical information, services, and benefits. To learn more about it, contact us at 916-974-9393.

    Ready to Get Your Money Back From the IRS?

    Bring us up to 3 years of past taxes and we’ll find ways to save you money, when we do we’ll help you file to get your money back from the IRS.

    Schedule Tax Evaluation
    Get Money Saving Tips & Updates
    • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.